Riverine

by Sanjida Shaheed

From my body
Oozes out a river
That cradles life
Within the soft warm linings
Of an ancient womb.

My hands play
With fire and water
And prepare food
Out of grains
And cauliflower
That grew out
Of the same dust
You were created from.

You can see
My youthfulness
Unhindered
By the wrinkles
That are settling
In the landscape
Of my vigilant face.

But my soul
Remains a mystery.

How can I
Mother you
In my heart
If you are always
Out there seeking
Fame and fortune
And comfort
In things that promise
Nothing but impermanence?

I am not here
To arrest
Life’s natural flow.
I will not be fixated
On glitter.

I am here
To merge with you
Like two rivers do
And gush forth together
As one body and one heart
Towards the sea.

………………………..

Authored by Sanjida Shaheed
date: January 04, 2014
shorturl: http://wp.me/p33PbB-e6

