Identity crisis

by Sanjida Shaheed

I don’t see myself
As a worshiper
Of a certain race
Or culture.

My skin colour
Or weight
Or height
Does not define me.

Nor does
My birth certificate.

The degrees
I have earned
Can neither
Identify
Nor measure
The knowledge
In my heart.

Prevalent
Beauty standards
Cannot idealize
The beauty
Of my soul.

All these and
Everything else
Help you
Put a label
On my being.

A label that
I too
Adhered to
When I was
Suffering from
Identity crisis.

All this
is a part
Of me
That is earthly.
Temporary.
Visible
To the naked eye.

But there is
More.

There is more
To me
Than eyes
Can see.

I am the one
Who submits
To the Will
Of The Lord
Of the lords.

And this is
My only identity.

………………………..

Authored by Sanjida Shaheed
date: April 19, 2014
shorturl: http://wp.me/p33PbB-f8

