An unknown blessing

by Sanjida Shaheed

No known thought
Or feeling.
Something unknown
Is gnawing
At my heart.

My heart
Is bleeding.
Like a wounded soldier
In a battlefield.

It is bigger
Than my existence.
I don’t know
What it is.
But I am
Familiar with it.

It has been
A part of me.
For years.

I know
When it grips
My heart.
But I
Don’t know
What it is.

I have learned
To make friends
With it.
The unknown company.

My pain.
An unknown friend.
A blessing
To me.

I know that
It brings me
Closer to my Lord.
And it brings me
Down.
On my knees.

Oh, Lord!
I don’t want
Joy
That takes me
Away from You!

Bless me
With this sorrow
That is unknown
To me.
Over and
Over again!

Let me be
Truly happy
Only when
I see You!

Until then
Give me
The strength
to bear
This unknown pain.

That torments
My heart.
And torments
My heart.
And torments
My heart…

………………………..

Authored by Sanjida Shaheed
date: April 20, 2014
shorturl: http://wp.me/p33PbB-fk

