Gaza

by Sanjida Shaheed

Today
You have opened
My heart
To grief.
Oh, Lord!
And I will
Just let it be.

I have seen
Many bomb blasts.
Torn apart bodies.
Grimacing faces.

I have seen
Fire and smoke
That rise up
Above the city.

Like a menacing monster.

I have grown
Numb.
I have absorbed
Too much death
And destruction.

A man carrying
An ash-coloured thing
That was once
A human baby.

A little girl
In red
Collecting her books
Buried in the rubble
That was once
Her home.

My eyes are
Bleeding.
There is no rescue.
There is no respite.

What have we done
To ourselves?

Today I am open
To grief.
And I shy away
From harrowing tales
Of an oppressed people.

We do not forget.
We look away
Lest our bubble bursts.

History repeats itself.
And this much I know –
Good times will prevail
Again.

I have grown numb.
Out of my numbness
Grows determination.
Like the promise
Of a big tree
Hidden inside
A tiny seed.

I shy away
From scrolling screens
That offer
Bits and pieces
Of carnage here.
And massacre there.

Lost dreams,
Shattered houses,
Messed up minds
Of children in shock.

Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder.
Quite a mouthful,
No?

What can I offer
To this world?
These are
Troubled times.

I am losing
My grip
On everyday things.

Deadlines,
Promises,
Responsibilities.
I am nowhere to be found.

Just for some time.
Let me be lost
In the nowhere space
Inside my head.

Let me stare
Blankly
At nothing at all.

Perhaps
All I need is
Just a little break.

To collect myself
Again.

I can feel
The uneasy stillness
Before a storm
That is brewing.

Inside
Me.

………………………..

Authored by Sanjida Shaheed
date: August 05, 2014
shorturl: http://wp.me/p33PbB-ft

