A journey by night

by Sanjida Shaheed

Bismillah

Am I the only one?

Stranded on this path?

This path that
Leads to Love?

Sometimes
It feels like that.

I have begun
This journey
By night.

Alone.

How much more pain?
How many more days?

Before the wait is over?

Pious ones have left
Their footprints.

And I carry
Your light
In my broken heart.

Hoping to shorten
This journey Home.

I have begun
To travel alone
When everyone is drunk.

With sleep.

Sometimes I feel
This feeling of peace.

Descending.
Dissolving
My pain.

This feeling
Of love glowing
Softly in my eyes.

Shaping me
For a road
Less travelled.

Am I the only one here?

Still searching,
Still pining,
Still weeping?

They play.
They laugh.
They dance.

Perhaps
They have forgotten
What it’s like.

To journey by night.

And meet Love in secret.

………………………..
Authored by Sanjida Shaheed
date: April 23, 2016
shorturl: http://bit.ly/1Sq188L

